• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Temps that water freezes?

Dennis Steele

OK I know that water freezes at 32 degrees but...I had a discussion in the boat the other day when my temp gauge read 31.7 degrees.We were not on ice (at that moment smile.gif)so my partner suggested that my equipment was wrong.I told him that moving water will not freeze at 32 degrees becuase the molecules in the water cannot bond when the water is moving and that it will take a temp colder than 32 degrees to to freeze it.
Now you have to understand I am just a high school graduate and I am discussing hydrodynamics with a guy who went to colledge to be and is a "water engineer".
Still, I think I am right! smile.gif
Can any one resolve our disagreement?

Dosent moving water create colories thus warm up the water? smile.gif
Have you ever seen a sick duck in the middle of the lake frozen lake with just a little circle of open water.

I've seen frozen waterfalls.

How come beer freezes after you open it?

Hope this helps. smile.gif

It WAS frozen - but you two were in a kind of Scientifological Antidonutmatter Vortex - created by the RP's ability to COMPRESS & then COMBUST water in it's JET-drive. By already fracturing the laws of physics - you guys were able to transcombobulate right through the inktuplasm of the ice's nano-reality.

Hope that cleared things up a bit.

Rob

Well, I asked this question in 5th grade physical science once, and just got a blank stare. Basically, the best way to describe it is that water BEGINS or IS ABLE to freeze at 32 degrees fahrenheit, but it is nowhere near instant by any means, even without any movement above or below the surface of the water, or any outside agitation. If you were to chill water to 32 degrees fahrenheit, and let it rest, it may freeze quite quickly, but I doubt it.