• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

My first archery buck, and WHAT A BUCK! A season recap

Powerstroke

It has taken me a long time to get this put together, but I hope you enjoy my little story.

As a small background, I have been hunting deer for 17 years and in all that time I have only taken 1 small buck and that was just 2 years ago. He was a wide 4pt that I took with my rifle. I started archery hunting 6 years ago and have taken numerous deer with my bow. I think archery hunting has really made me a better hunter.

This fall has been an excellent season for me already. I had been chosen to participate in a couple of select hunts with MBRB and I got to take my 10yr old daughter with me hunting on her first hunt. Starting in October I was chosen to hunt in a north metro park area for deer removal. I enjoy these hunts because I am primarily a meat hunter and I like being able to hunt close to home.

On my first morning I was setup across the swamp from a parking lot in a nice funnel.

full-3446-27787-imag0511.jpg

A doe and her fawn came in silently from behind and I was nearly busted. The fawn got within 5yds before I knew she was there. I had to turn and stand to make the shot. The fawn got nervous and ran a bit, but the doe had no idea why. She walked forward and I made my first shot at 5yds. She took off running, bleeding quite well.

full-3446-27788-imag0488.jpg

I was confused by what I was watching. I thought my deer ran off and died. A couple minutes later I saw a doe and fawn come walking around towards the water. They went out of my sight and then her fawn came running back. The fawn came perfectly broadside at 18yds directly in front of me. I placed my pin and made a perfect shot. This is a management hunt so taking a fawn is part of the game. Besides, this is some of the best meat.