• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

How to pick a Release??

I am in the market for a new release this year and I am a novice bow hunter at best. Looking to see how you guys choose your releases and what functions you think are important, and what things causes problems. Last year after i went from a metal loop to a string loop, my release would stick probably one out of ever fifty draws, but it still really stunk... any help here would be great thanks guys.

I prefer a wrist strap model. The jaw/trigger portion needs to be able to swing out of the way to make all other projects easier without removing the strap. If you go to an archery pro-shop, they will have several on hand that you can try. Shoot a few and see what you like best.

a lot will be on your preference as well, i like the wrist strap ones as well. Do you want one with a hair trigger or one you have to put some pressure on to release? I tried one with a hair trigger once and my arrow ended up in the woods so it went right back to the store. How much are you looking to spend? I shot a tru fire paid about $30 for it and love it, my first one i ever bought 9 years ago was a tru fire as well paid $20 for it and love it only reason i got a new one was the old one was velcro and made to much noise if i had to take it off or adjust in the field.

Do you have some friesnds that archery shoot?

That would be a great way to try them out.

Go to a store like C.....'s and shoot several of them.

I like the wrist ones that buckle, not velcro. If something is going to make noise, you know when it will happen...at the worst possible moment!

I went with a Scott's release, I like the idea of the jaws not attached to the release with a bolt, this way it will not hinder when climbing or moving around.