• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Day by Day Recap of my Black Hills Combo Hunt.

DonBo

For those who don't recall, I've been doing this trip for about 30 years. Gary has been my partner for over 20. We bowhunt deer, hunt turkeys and fish trout. Best week of the year for me when you get to bring all the toys. Archery gear, shotguns and fishing rods. Nice. This area is actually a "prairie" unit. Turkey tags are unlimited. We have 4 tags each. The deer are whitetails. We see some big ones every year but for whatever reason we've never taken a really big buck here, maybe this will be the year.

Our property is an 800 acre private ranch near Sturgis. It is divided into two halfs. The river bottom area, over one mile of river bottom habitat including a huge hay field, the main food source of the entire area. (Did I mention the river is full of Brown Trout? Big trout.) And the hills. This area is comprised of the high ridges and pine trees the Black Hills are known for. Oak draws fill in the low spots between the ridges.

We've always camped and hunted the bottoms. The hills have deer, and some nice ones as it's more remote and much less pressured, but as anyone who's ever hunted hilly terain will tell you, the wind makes it darn near impossible to kill a deer here. The turkey hunting however has always been good, fewer birds maybe, but the bigger toms have always come from the hills.

A couple days before our arrival I got a call from the rancher. He said there's a problem. A bunch of bulls were accidentally released into the bottoms. Apparentely a couple of them are known to be testy. So....here we are camping up in the hills.

DSC02674.jpg