• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

is expensive dog food really worth it???

waxworm09

I am starting to wonder if buying the more expensive food is worth the extra money.. I'm hoping I can get some input on here. The reason I'm asking, I have been feeding my two dogs nutrisource for about 3 years. They like the food, but 3 years ago I was paying 38 bucks for a 33 pound bag. It is now up to 50 bucks a bag, so I decided to look around and try some cheaper food because prices are getting crazy. I bought a small bag of purina to see if the dogs like it, and they love the stuff, so I bought a 50 pound bag for 23 bucks. I'm not sure if I want them to eat the cheap stuff, but I can say that my wifes parents had 2 dogs, they got them as pups, and fed them table scraps and cheap food every day. One lived to 15 the other 16, they were a collie mix. My parents have had 2 or 3 dogs at all times and still do. They have always fed purina or pedigree. Right now they have a rottweiler german sheperd mix, he is 13 years old and they got him as a pup. Hes slowing down over the past year or so, but he's a 125 pound dog and I don't see many big dogs like that live much past 13 no matter what you feed him. So my question is, is an expensive food really that much better for your dog? Or is it 99 percent marketing, trying to make us believe the expensive food is much better? I would like to hear opinions from both sides.

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic