• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Filling a Tag

drake123

So I was wondering wat ur thoughts were. I am new to bow hunting, and will be hunting this weekend around ely. The land We own is lottery. I can only shoot one deer with my rifle, or my bow. Do you think I should take a nice doe that gives me a good shot, or wait for the big boy to come. I have about 4 weekends of bow hunting up there, and three for rifle. Again one tag, what should I do. O and I will also be hunting around chisago area so I can hopefully fill some tags here to get the first deer out of my system.

if it was me and I knew there were decent bucks in the area I was hunting then with 7 weekends to fill a tag with a big boy and the oppurtunity to fill some doe tags around home I'd hold onto the tag untill the big boy shows up and hunt does around the house.

Tunrevir~

Yes, we have trail cams out no buck activity yet, have some big does around. My dad and, uncles have shot some decent bucks out of there nothing huge just nice 8's, and couple 9's. Havent seen any tho for 2-3 years, but I guess if the does are around the bucks should be coming.

Thanks

Personally, i would wait!! I have been bow hunting for 5 years now and haven't flung an arrow at a deer yet. I like to wait for a big buck and unfortunately that usually happens in the stand i sit in for slug hunting!! it's all about being outdoors, either way i will shoot a deer! If i don't see a big'un by the end of slug season i will have no problem shooting a doe late season with my bow!!