• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

random pics..

So I am new to the HSOforum. I have enjoyed many of the photos that have been posted on here, and I thought I might throw some out there to try to get some feedback. I am an amateur photographer, and like to take pics when I have the time. Let me know what you think....I don't mind criticism!

100_0959.jpg

DSC01687.jpg

DSC03892.jpg

DSC01652a.jpg

These are just a few! If you haven't noticed by now....I kind of have a thing for water scenes!

Kate, welcome to HSO/FM. Great to have you here, and thanks for joining in.

Let me know what you think....I don't mind criticism!

Really pretty images here. I'm a little partial to water images myself.

In image No. 1, I think the major points of interest are along the middle of the image. Cropping out a good bit of the top and bottom for a more panoramic look is something that may be worth trying. You may like it better, you may not. Photography is a lot like cooking . . . season to taste. smile

No. 2 is full of drama, IMO. Crashing water and deep shadows. I like it a lot just as it stands.

The composition in No. 3 is wonderful. Excellent eye, there. An idyllic scene. The highlights in the water and on some of the leaves look blown out on my monitor, and it appears this was shot in pretty hot sunlight, so I can see how that could happen. Not sure which camera you are using, but unless it's a basic point-and-shoot, most offer the option of using exposure compensation to override the meter. In this case, I'd have underexposed one full stop for starters.