• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Whats the deal?

This season has been horrible for me. I've hardly even been seeing deer. This is my first year at Bemidji State so hunting up here is way different then what I'm used to(usually hunt in SW MN). My confidence is at an all time low! I wash my clothes, spray down every time, do my best to play the wind and nothing has worked. We've hunted public and have got permission to hunt some private and it doesn't seem to matter. I know i shouldn't be b****ing about it and just get out and hunt but I've been out every week since opener, usually 2-3 times a week plus the weekends, so i have put in time. I just don't know what the deal is. Anyone else having a poor season?

Rins I think alot are going through the same thing this year.Not sure why either thats whats sucks. I had a good early season but after the October lull well in my case it never went away.

I watch and follow a couple online shows and both Wisc and Mn hunters have had off seasons from what Ive been reading. Now anything south of us has been unreal. I Think i meesed up this past week. I seen more dead deer on the roads last week than I had all year I realy believe the HARD chasing started last week. But i was to tired and discouraged to get out and try.

Plain and simple there are way fewer deer in the Bemidji area than in southern MN. Northern MN has had normal to hard winters the past 2 years and that really takes a toll on the herd. They also have the wolves to deal with. We rifle hunt by LOW and I bowhunt by Northome and we are seeing way fewer deer the past 2 years - they just ain't out there.