• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Muzzleloader Load

Here's a spot for us to compare different loads,powders and bullets.

For me I have been shooting 3 50 grain triple seven pellets a hornaday 250 grain sts sabot and winchester 209 primers out of a T/C omega inline.

I have never put a scope on it and use it thru the whole gun season be it rifle or slug zone it don't matter to me. It is my favorite gun in the safe and feels like a extension of my body when I shoulder it. Nothing better then the smell of pyrodex and trying to see thru the cloud to keep a eye on the deer after the shot. I have been shooting this rifle and load for 8 years and taken 18 deer with it.

I have tried different loads and powders and keep coming back to this load. I also have tried the loose powder and shot a little tighter groups with less powder however it is not enough improvement to offset the ease of the pellets.

I spent a summer after noon at the range a few years back to work out the perfect zero for both long and short range. All the shooting was done open sights and off my caldwell lead sled.

I pull the breech plug and swab the barrel with a water patch then a dry patch and finish with a bore butter patch grease the breech plug and reload for another shot. With doing it this way I have been able to shoot 2" groups at 150 yards.

As far as my perfect zero with all the shooting and tinkering,I have found for me it's 3 inches high at 50 yards this has put me a touch high at 100 yards and a touch low at 150 yards. Which is about perfect for my hunting situations. One day I might be up in Squaw Lake hunting a thick ceder swamp and only able to shoot 30 yards and the next I will be in the back yard hunting over a `100 acre corn field.