• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Accuracy at different ranges - confused!

WyoChris

I am new to archery, finally making the jump from gun hunting to bow hunting. Last week I bought a PSE Stinger.

Went out to the range today (usually try and go with a experienced archer, but was by myself today) and was shooting at a bag at about 10 yards. It was a block with about 12 small circles on it. Everytime I shot at a circle, my arrows would land directly to the left about 6 inches or so. I thought I was just pulling the bow, so I really focused on that loose grip as not to jerk the bow.... but I was still getting shot groups to the left of the target.

I thought maybe my sight was off... however, before deciding to adjust it, I decided to shoot a few arrows at a wild boar decoy sitting between 30 and 40 yards. Surprisingly, all 3 arrows landed right on.... all within about a paper plate size shot group and right on target. They did not pull to the left at all. I continued to shoot this target again and the same thing; arrows were not pulling at all.

Since i'm new at archery, what causes this? Why do I pull to the left at 10 yards, but don't at 30-40 yards? I'm assuming it has something to do with depth perception and my sight picture at the different distances.... what do you think? and how do I replicate it so I can be hitting bullseyes at 10 yrds?

Thanks

Chris

My guess would be punching the realease or anchoring tighter or farther away from you face you could also have been not holding the bow level. You could also have a issue with the fleatching hitting something on your bow and the arrow can't correct itself by the ten yard target.

I think AS hit it right on the head. You're probably not holding the bow straight up and down. Try a site with a bubble level on it and I think that issue will go away.