• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Hand Gun to buy ?? **bought one !!! *pics*

reelemin

Didn't know where to post this, thought this might be the best spot.

Looking to buy a hand gun ( got the permit ) mainly for self defense. I'm very new to guns but know the basics. As of now I'm looking at a Taurus or S&W 39 spl. 2" to 4" barrel.( I want a revolver )

My question is - is there a brand that I should stay away from ?

do you mean 38 spl tami? I think taurus and S&W are great choices. are you considering this for conceal and carry purposes or more for in the house protection? the longer the barrel the better your sight line and sight picture is gonna be. Take a look and try out different ones before you decide for sure. Bills gunshop and range offers rentals, might be worth the time and a little bit of money (not a lot compared to a gun purchase) to go and "test drive" a S&W or a taurus. They have a HSOforum, I know one of their places is in circle pines.......not sure of the other one, it used to be in Richfield.

Taurus, Smith, and Ruger are all very good choices in the revolver market.

If I had to choose a "carry revolver" I would be looking at an sp101 (ruger), or a "Lady Smith" (S&W), I can get over the name, both in .357. They both will shoot .38's as well as the mags. Both are exposed hammer guns, but if you have a smith bob them that issue would go away.

The best thing to do is do a lot of window shopping. Hold and handle a lot of guns, check for fit and finish, find one you like the best. You will know when that happens. Don't let someone talk you into a gun you dont realy want. What works for me, a gun shop guy, or someone else, may not work for you. Grip size, ballance, weight, your past gun experience, it all makes a differance.