• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

How often do you practice - and more?

This will be my second year bowhunting. Like last Summer, I've been getting out about 4-5 times a week to shoot. Usually, I go through several dozen shots at 20 yards, about a dozen at 15 yards, and about a half dozen or so at 25-30 yards. This has seemed to be adequate in terms of grouping well on my target and hitting the middle of the 3d's vitals consistently. I shoot more in one session if I can and am enjoying myself. How often do you practice? What do you feel gets you into the swing of things and ready for an ethical shot come the season? Just interested in everyone's response.

Also, I recently started practicing with broadheads (Muzzys) exclusively and took all of my pins off my sight but one and sighted it in perfectly at 20 yards. My average shot will be well within this range when hunting. When I move inside of 15 yards, I find I have to aim ever so slightly downward to hit the middle of a 2 inch by 2 inch tape square on my target. Yet when I move back to 25 yards I find I have to compensate signifigantly more - aiming well above the square - to hit the same spot. Seems like I'd getting quite a bit of drop off at 25 yards versus 20 yards. My Parker claims a 286 fps rate of speed. Is this drop off unusual or should I work on some tuning? I'm considering just putting a pin back on and sighting it in at 25 yards in case a shot at that range arises...

For me i have been practicing almost everday after work, i am shooting alot right now getting ready for the bear opener. i try to only shoot about 20-30 minutes though not to wear myself out in this recent heat and possibly injuring myself. Good luck!