• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

New to Archery. First bow. Need your help.

bASS_BLASTER

I'm new to Archery. I'm deciding on a Mathews Z7 or Z7 Xtreme. I figured I buy used and get a little more out of my $. I have considered other brands but like I said, buy use and get the most out of my $.

I'm 5'6" about 160.

Here are the two bows.

z7 is just bare bow for $550

z7 xtreme is a complete package and ready to shoot for $750.

I don't know the used value on these bows so any input would help.

I would NEVER buy a used bow without shooting it first, UNLESS you know exactly what you want. With that being said, shoot them both and see which one just plain feels better to you.

Good luck!

Prices sound fair I guess, assuming they are no more than a year or two old. A new Z7 is goin' for almost a grand.

Gotta add though, if you're new to the sport, I'd still recommend shooting one first. If you're buying on-line without getting to shoot it, what you end up with may not fit you. At least go to a shop where you can shoot a similar bow to be sure the draw length and poundage you're ordering are going to work for you.

No bow is a bargain if it doesn't fit you.

Agree with Donbo, you are also picking some pretty high end bows that are not terribly forgiving of poor form for your first bow. Not saying you won't shoot it well, just saying I hope you have good form. grin Sounds to me like you have already either shot these or have shot bows before and know what you want. I think the prices are OK for these bows, anything you can get to go with, cases, arrows, etc... will be a bonus. Be sure the drawlength is right. If not, you will be very disappointed and it will be a waste of money.