• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Check your equipment!

This is a general reminder to everyone that I experienced the hardest way possible:

Check your equipment - especially your bow - during the season. Shoot it as often as you can to make sure you're hitting where you think you are.

The rest of the story: Last night I missed the 170"+ NT that I have been chasing for several years at 22 yards, in a perfect slightly quartering away position with no obstructions in sight. It was a "can't make it up dream situation". I couldn't figure out what happened until this morning when I again shot my bow before work. I hadn't found time to shoot in about two weeks. It turns out my groups are still "arrow touching tight" at that distance, however, they are now 6" low. What a painful reminder about doing the "little things" correctly in order to be successful.

Ouch! Good advise from a hard earned lesson. I take my block target with me on most hunts and try to fling a few arrows before heading to stand.

Hope you get another crack at that bad boy.

Ouch! Good advise from a hard earned lesson. I take my block target with me on most hunts and try to fling a few arrows before heading to stand.

Hope you get another crack at that bad boy.

Yep, exactly as DonBo said. That is a painful lesson and one I bet you won't forget anytime soon. But... that's bowhunting and it's part of why we love this sport and part of why it drives us completely bonkers sometimes. I hope you get another crack at him and I bet the end result is different if you do. Good luck!

Ouch! ya thats going to be a tough one to forget! Who knows, 2nd chances DO HAPPEN! grinwink

Do you suppose your sights got bumped? Screw loosened?