• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Graph of Flasher

Please bare with me guys, I am sure this topic has been of here too many times already but this is my first time here so please bare with me. I am looking into purchasing either the Vexilar FL-8, the Vexilar FL-18 of the Eagle Fishmark 320 Portable unit graph. I will be using this for seeking out those Walleyes on Saginaw Bay in Michigan through the ice and on the Saginaw River both through the ice and slipping the current with my jon boat after ice out. The deepest water I will probably be in would be 25'.
Thanks, Greg

Welcome Green Bay and yes the flasher is what you will want. The 8 or the 18 depending on your budget they are both excellent units and you won't be disappointed. Somebody might have to pry my 8 out of my cold dead hand before I give it up for any other unit.

Graphs don't really work well through the ice because your position remains static. Think about it. When a fish comes under your cone, you'll get a black line through your screen that will stay until the fish has moved on. If the fish moves up or down, the line will thicken. Your bait? ___________________________

Vexilars excel at what they do. And the 18 is amazing.

Welcome Green Bay!!!!

MOst are right on about the flasher over the LCD.
Flashers are "Real time" where with LCD read outs there is about a 2 second delay, not the greatest for vertical jigging. However some LCD units have the flasher capabilities now.

Recently I fished the Mississippi in heavy current, using my Vexilar! The current kept sweeping my spoon past the cone range!

This made fishing almost unbearable!! In fact, I made a comment to my fishing partner that day that I felt naked with out my vexilar!!!!
I settled for sitting on my bucket and watchng the screen anyway!LOL