• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

NEW 870 Barrel??

I have an old 870 wingmaster, 30'' barrel full choke, so after years of shooting steel with this gun I did not realize the dangers of this nor the inaccuracy of steel once I patterned it. So I am getting a new barrel for the old gun looking on the Remmington web site barrels are listed as light contour or standard contour, does anyone know what this means?

Thanks

Kettle

why get a new barrel just take it to a gun shop and have the barrel stretched to modifyed I had a older gun which I had the same problem costed me $60 to have it done. I also had a choice of installing chokes which the cost would of been $85 plus the cost of the choke. If you go with a new barrel it will not match with your older gun...

It's the diameter and weight . The light contour is slimmer and fast handling the other is a heavier weight forward about 1/4 pound slower handling great for pass shooting geese etc The light contour will feel more like your orignal barrell.

I would talk to a gun smith and have a screw in choke installed and most likely it would be cheaper than a new barrel with the bennifts of changing chokes like the new barrels. Thats what I had Keelers Gunsmithing do for me.

getting a barrel with a screw in choke system is the way to go. I would not hesitate to buy a barrel. In terms of barrels, an 870 barrel is the easiest to find. I would not look for a new barrel, there are many, many used 870 barrels for sale on websites and in stores. Gordies route is another good option, but I personally don't like modifying old guns if I can help it.