• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Survival Collar

pureinsanity

Ive been doing a little grouse hunting for about 10 years now, and I have never got lost exception of last year. I hunt with my father and one dog. I decided to get off the main trail and go around this small bog, which turned into a bigger bog and bigger bigger bog! I have a pretty good sense of direction and navigating skills. However, I was starting to sweat a little bit as I kept getting further and further around this bog. Had my dog by my side which made me feel a little bit more comfortable as well as a 12 gauge with 30 or so shells in my pouch.

I knew I was headed into the right direction and eventually I would hit a road, but I never expected it to be that long of a walk and put me where it actually did.

I tried yelling and communicating with my father who was some ways off into the woods. No response which got me thinking, Ok, did he fall and hit something or does he just not hear me? I was about to use the shot gun three shot trick when I heard a car coming. All said and done I found my road that I thought I was going to hit and was only about 100 yards off target where I then finally heard my father yelling for me as I should have been closer to him.

All said and done I vowed to go out there better prepared with a small compass and possibly some tools with me that I could use in the field if need be. But more specifically if I am on my own.

Have any of you seen the parachute cord bracelets commonly made by most military personal in their spare time? I have been contemplating using some of their techniques for wrapping rod handles to give it a unique grip. I figured I better start and learn how they do the bracelets first however.

Here is a picture of a couple styles I tried last night.

223282_739823053502_199101806_37646530_5