• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Eh, leaving doe overnight....

deerminator

I've never done this before but tonight, about an hour before dark I nailed a doe in the soybeans from the ground blind. Yes, I thought as I heard the thunk but then as she turn and spun, the arrow was about half way in her and further back than I'd like. I didn't think too far back but then she just ambled off over the hill. Tail was up. I lost sight of her obviously and waited for a few minutes. Then I slowly walked back to the truck (in the opposite direction) and took a break. I fired it up and drove the township roads that circled the soybean filed for any movement or sign but none. As it was getting dark, now and I'm not entirely certain of the shot placement, I breifly re-entered the field, crested the hill, looked around a little bit (no blood found but it was dark) and backed out. I figure with the temps in the 30s tonight, it should be ok to leave her overnight. But I've never hit a deer that far back before. I'll be back tomorrow but any tips would be appreciated. She didn't really run like she was gut shot so I figure I'd start by looking for blood and then doing circles around where I last saw her in the beans. Lots of groves of trees interspersed with the ag lands and one nearby with a big creak, so I might focus there too.

If she was a little quatering away you might of stuck the oppsite shoulder wich would leave alot of arrow hanging out. normally with a gut shot you will get a pass through and if you don't push them the will bed down normally within 100 yards of the shot and you will find little or no blood. You did the right thing by not pushing her that is the worst thing you can do. Good luck and looking forward for some pics tomorrow.