• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Game Farm Series

Here's a few shots of my brothers 10 month old yellow lab at a sw metro game farm last Saturday.

These were taken with a 40D and a 70-200L 2.8/IS lens. I'm just getting into this. Any help would be appreciated.

I spent most of the afternoon in manual mode, iso 200, f8-f11, and IS off.

IMG_6833-8X10.jpg

IMG_6838-8X10-2.jpg

IMG_6839-8-X-10.jpg

IMG_6713-8-x10.jpg

IMG_6828.jpg

SX3, you got some great shots. I am shooting that same lens and got some images from a training day we held at a game farm two weekends ago that I posted (I think they are on the next page). I found my shots were very similar to yours although it looks like you were a good distance closer to your subjects.

With that said, and because you asked for help I am very interested what others have to say and I would like to hear some feedback as I certainly thinks is valuable info going forward.

To me:

#1: Nice close in shot, but "I think" is a bit out of focus. I would be interested to hear what setting could have been made (if any) to make it sharper. I guess to me it seems to be a focus issue. I would also guess a faster shutter speed would have made the wings sharper depending on what you were going for in the image.

#2: Good shot that to my eye seems pretty sharp. Not sure if the contrast could be helped a little or if it's a little overexposed. Curious what others would think.

#3: Again looks like a pretty sharp image, but the colors seem a little lacking. I think post processing could help with that but I would be interested in knowing if any settings could help with that?

#4: This image seems a bit overexposed? Again, would like to hear what you could have done differently.