• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Tips on Silencing Your Bow?

IcEaHoLiC

Hey everyone, I am just getting started on archery hunting. Bought myself a bow 4 days ago, to which i have never shot a compound bow before that in my life. I have been shooting everyday since for about an hour, and I have noticed right from the start how loud and how much vibration comes from the release every time. I know that will need to change before hunting season so I am curious to see what people have to say about silencing your bow. I personally have the stabilizer that came with the bow (PSE Fire Flite 33 CF)and that is it. Any hints on silencing?

also......any hints on replacing fletching? instead of buying new arrows?

IcEaHoLiC-

They make things for the strings on your bow, they are called string leaches, they are made by SIMS Vibration Labs. They also have an S-Coil stabilizer that is supposed to help reduce vibration and sound, otherwise go to an archery shop and look around, see what you find. I know i've heard good things about those two products.

Also on your arrows, they make special glue, and you will use that after you purchase new fleching. I think it's easier to just take it in to an archery shop to get them repaired, it doesnt cost much either. But anyways, hope this helps. And welcome to the greatest hunting sport!

Personally I use the Sims S-coil stabilizer and it made a huge difference for me. My buddy is very jealous that my $25 stabilizer did better than his $45 one.

As far as the string, I use regular cat whiskers. These are the things that look like a jig/spinnerbait skirt. They are little rubber strings attaches by crimping them around your string. Until someone can prove to me that spending bug bucks on silencing kits works better than the old stuff I will keep using what I got.