• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Blood trail ran cold

Looking for some input. I'm fairly new to bow hunting, been at it maybe 5 years. Shot my second deer with a bow today...yeah yeah I know its rifle opener but I prefer bow.

Anyways made a shot slight quartering away at about 18 yards. Hit looked ok but a touch high from what I could tell but also no pass through.  No big thud sound just a tiny crack sound. Looked like solid penatration would have guessed 2 holes but no evidence of that.  Was shooting 3 blade muzzy.

It ran off about 50 yards and stopped for a second and then walked off. Found this blood where it stopped but after that only tiny drops. 3 hours on my hands and knees and I lost blood after 20-30 yards. Only found 3 drops in that stretch.  

Does this blood tell you anything? 

I just pulled the plug on the search for the night. Lost the trail and fog is setting in so everything is wet now and my headlamp just reflects off the fog so I can't see.  

Looking for any insight you might have.  I'll be out in the morning looking again but with the warm temps and coyotes in the area I'm not real hopeful. 

20201107_170749.jpg

The crack you heard was either a rib or the bone the broadhead stopped in.

Looks like meat blood, not organ blood to me.  If it’s a high entrance and no exit the body cavity will have to fill with blood before you get a good, reliable blood trail.  Also in that case when the deer is moving fast what little blood comes out will be spread over a long distance.  You almost have to predict where the deer is going and look ahead.