• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

new conibear traps- how to set light

Is there any way to set a new/freshly dipped conibear so the trigger is lighter? I've set a few and set them off with a stick, and I gotta say they take alot more force to set them off than I would think/like. Also, I'm new to trapping so I'm still learning.

Make sure the dog and trigger is loose on the bar. Also you can LIGHLTY file the corners of the half cirle on the dog. I mean only a few swipes with a fine file or a little bit of scentless candle wax rubbed in the knotches will help them fire. Just remember they will get loose with time and nothing worse then coni's that snap at will. For some reason we waxed a few coni's back in the eighties, they still try to bite your hand.

what brand are they and are you using the farthest out knotch?

All dukes. I have tested them at all notch's with no noticeable difference.

I'll take a look to see if I can loosen up the triggers. I think they move freely, but maybe they can loosen more..Thanks

Usually I'll take a chain saw file and make the notch on your dog deeper this takes alot of travel out of the trigger. Just file to the point where the dog just touches or a hair off from the trigger no more. Will take much less travel of the trigger to set off the trap. The trap when set will have a more positive lock but set lighter and quicker when the trigger is touched. Good luck.

I'm thinking about this, and I would think that by making the notch deeper that it would take more pressure to set off the trap..? I've never done this, so I'm not disagreeing with you, and am willing to try anything..