• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Fighting Zebra Mussels

Dylan33

I'm sure this has been referenced here before, but I came across this today and thought I'd share. The state of Virginia was able to eradicate zeebs in a small lake a few years back. Why wouldn't that works here? Why not make this more widespread?

I'm not fisheries or environmental expert, so I guess I'm wondering what some of you people smarter than me think?

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/zebramussels/

Well I'm not an expert at toxicology or anything, but a few things come to mind:

They weren't worrying about native mussels or crustaceans, one would think a potassium concentration high enough to kill zebra mussels would also kill native ones. In non-quarry situations, when there is a much more complex ecosystem, there is going to be a lot of collateral damage. And one would think that 100% effectiveness is not feasible in a large body of water, which means that it'd be prone to another breakout of zebra mussels

We're also talking about a 12-acre body of water, and it cost them 350K to do it. Extrapolating those numbers out and you're talking about 30 million dollars to apply the same thing to Prior Lake, for example.

Just convince people that they're a delicacy.

That's what they did several years ago with the Patagonian toothfish in the South Atlantic. It was essentially an ugly, by-catch fish that no one wanted and which couldn't compete with the salmon and swordfish in the commercial market.

They renamed them "Chilean Sea Bass" and fancy restaurants in NY and LA couldn't get enough - to the point where the population was threataned and the fishing of them has to now be highly-regulated.

Zebra-mussel soup, maybe? smile