• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Smoking suckers

The only time I have eaten smoked sucker, it maybe stayed down for 2 hours (I didn't make it btw)! Actually everyone that tried it (this was on fishing opener 08) had about the same results as me. Good luck though, I do hope your experience is 100 times better! I'm sure there's a way to make it palatable, heck some people think sushi is a delicacy!!

considering that last year was the first time i have smoked fish, i am far from an expert, but in my couple of batches, i did not come across any issues at all. maybe some more seasoned pros know of some. i am getting them from a clean lake system and only used smaller fish around 1 1/2 lbs. i did not think the taste was great, but far from bad.

You can smoke them the same way as any other fish. However I like to get mine out of clean waters and not muddy places. I agree you dont really want the huge ones as they are hard to get done all the way threw. You could however smoke some bigger ones for a while and then can them in a pressure cooker.

the last time I smoked a sucker the taste was fine, but the bones drove we crazy. The red horse suckers I used weighted around 4-6lbs each. there 2-3 times the bones more the any northern. I liked smoking northerns and sheephead, less bones to deal with.

I believe suckers spawn first. I grew up in western Wisconsin and every spring we'd fish suckers for smoking and other people pickled them. The bite would start about mid March and go till mid April. I remember there was always snow on the ground when we were fishing for them.