• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Frustrated

tmvikings

This is my first year bow hunting after several years hunting with slugs. After the last two nights I need to vent a little bit. I have been out bow hunting on public land and since Duck hunting started the place is a mess. Wednesday people were jumping the pond that’s on that land left and right. One of the shots seemed really close then a second later I heard the bb’s hit the treetops to my left, I could not see the pond because of a hill. Tonight I get out everything is going great the sun just set on the hill and I am feeling good about seeing some deer when out of the corner of my eye I see a dark flash and it turned out to be a dog then another and then another one followed by a couple. Worst part being only one of the dogs looked to be a hunting dog, maybe. So I wait till they see me and the guy yells out sorry, so now I am thinking great they will turn around and walk back the way they came and let me continue my hunt but I was wrong they kept going right in front of me and then behind me though the rest of the property. Talk about no respect I would of walked back out the way I came especially since they already had a long walk before they got to me. Another point- they saw my truck they had to be looking for someone and with the time of day know it would be a bow hunter. As soon as Pheasant starts that’s it for my bow hunting unless some one lets me hunt their private land- PLEASE PLEASE

Hunting state land can be tough at times. Your best bet as you realize is to hit the gravel and start asking landowners permission.

There are many good public areas for bow hunting in the Henderson area along the river valley that you could hunt with less issues.