• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Spending time with the fairy slipper (images added)

Hey all:

Been running like crazy the last couple weeks with a couple weeks more running to come, but was able finally to locate a prime fairy slipper (calypso orchid) bloom in a cedar swamp near Bemidji. The whole plant is only 5 inches tall, and in the two loose vertical images, the top of the flower to the bottom of the stalk shown is about 3 inches.

I have been working for 4 years to find the rare and ephemeral fairy slipper in bloom, and until now something has always come between us. In this case, I had today and a bit of tomorrow to locate and shoot them, a small amount of time sandwiched between weddings, portraits, travel to other photo locations and such. I breathed a sigh of relief and reward when I finally spotted this little fella.

All with the Canon 1D Mk3 at iso800.

Canon 100 f2.8 macro, 1/15 @ f11, handheld

3593081875_c36bddc2f0_o.jpg

Canon 200 f2.8L, three Kenko extension tubes, 1/85 @ f4, handheld

3593890192_a23246809d_o.jpg

Canon 100 macro, 1/125 @ f4.5, handheld

3593890334_b39482b7d8_o.jpg

Thanks, all. WCS, no IS on the 100 macro, but the camera was basically sitting on its side on the ground with my hands bracing it, and with that monster burst rate on the Mk3, if you trigger a burst and hold it as steady as possible, the images toward the middle of the burst tend to be sharper than those at the start and finish. Just one more technique to keep in mind.

I was there again today and found many more fairy slippers, some in clusters of three. I'll add some images of them to this post later.