• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Minnow question

Rip_Some_Lip

I was wondering if anyone feeds there left over minnows? During the winter when the fishing is slow, I keep minnows for along time sometimes. Do they eat fish food that you would give your goldfish? It may be a dumb question, but I figure bait is better for catching fish if they are healthy.

No, they won't eat, or at least that is my experience. However, crappie and fathead minnows will live along time without food as long as the water is cool enough, I used to keep a tank in the basement. Suckers and shiners will last a while, but die off much faster.

Minnows, as well as leeches, and most of the time nightcrawlers, will not eat in captivity. Why? I am not sure. I have been trapping all of them for ten years and tried to feed them many times. Just keep them in cool fresh water and they will be fine. Better yet, go fishing more often. I know, easy to say. I am in the same boat. No pun intended.

Matt

Actually they will eat in captivity, fathead minnows anyway leaches also, I new some wholesalers who used to do it but in the winter you can keep minnows along time just by keeping them in fresh water and cold temps.

How often do you change your minnows water when you are keeping them in cold water over the winter? Sometimes the tap water seems to kill them and then sometimes it doesn't seem to hurt them.

in my experience, a change in water temp from old to new water kills minnows. we have a water softner and have to be sure theres no salt taste in the water after regenerating. also i have a bubbler to keep them healthy. usually i change the water when the small chuncks of gook starts floating and discoloring the water.