• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

which book?

delmuts

i plan to buy a book on muskie fishing , when i order some things from thorn bros. my choices ( too me) are between " muskie on the shield" or "complete guide to muskie hunting" i am still a beginner chasing these fish. i only get to fish a couple of lakes for them.( one is french by faribault, and a small lake here in iowa) which one do you guys reccomend? del

If you can find it " The Freshwater Angler - Northern Pike & Muskie " is like a bible for Musky fishing . Its all about the Fish , different type of waters , etc . Its not a Im a great fisherman book like so many are , in fact you really have to look to see who actually authored it . I have read quite a few books and subscribe to mags but this book is no nonsense info , kinda like a text book for Esox .

Both really smile.gif...Complete guide to Musky hunting is good for an overall look, as it covers boat rigging, to livebait fishing, trolling etc...while Muskie on the Shield is great if you are planning on hitting a shield lake, and it helps understand structures and why or how to fish them.

I have read both of these many many times. I like to go back to them when I am stuggling with getting fish, seem to be able to find confidence when nothing else is working.

Also both of the musky specific magazines are good sources of info if you have not checked them out.

Hiya -

I'd say "Muskies on the Shield" but I'm somewhat biased wink.gif

Another good one is "Muskies Maina Style." Pete has some good stuff in there, particularly on triggering fish and figure-8s (I know a couple guys who are better than Pete at getting following fish to bite, but not many...), trolling techniques, and a very good discussion on developing patterns from day to day. Plus, it's just a fun read.