• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Chewing while bowhunting

Dead Eye

This might be a stupid question. This is my first year bowhunting for deer and I'm wondering if chewing tobacco would be a bad idea due to the scent. Obviously I would not spit on the ground but if I had a cup up in my stand, how much would that affect my luck? Thanks

Someone last year tried to convince me that if you urinate from your stand it's not big deal.

If we are going to spend time and money being scent free, why would you want to put any scent into the air that is not natural?

Masking agents help, but are not a guarantee. Scent Shield, Scent A Way, whatever helps also.

I think your best off not chewing, but that is my take.

Personal opinion...It doesn't matter what you do in your stand...chew tobbaco or gum, smoke, eat candy....IF you're set up downwind of where you expect the game to come! While "cover" scents and clothing may help "some", there is nothing in my opinion that totaly eliminates human scent! You're breathing constantly,(at least you should be), and with every breath you're realeasing "Human odor" into the air...I prefer to have several stand locations set up for various wind directions and NEVER hunt with the wind blowing from you to where you expect the game to be traveling! I even go so far as to climb out of my stand if the wind switches on me unexpectadly...Better to be safe than sorry and "screw up" a good spot you worked long and hard to find!!

My buddy was chewing "apple skol" last year and just spitting it on the ground. He shot (bow) a deer that was coming up to check it out. Granted it was yearling but he thought it liked the smell of apple. After he shot that deer another nearby young deer came up and licked the spot where he had been spitting. Maybe just dumb luck?