• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Pin Yardage Help

Hey Gents,

Looking for your advice on a pin yardage. I shoot through sights with three pins set at 20, 30 and 40 yards. Problem is, I'm a bit high at 30 yards, but can't move my 30 pin up any higher, because it's bumping into the 20 pin.

Obviously, I could adjust to 15-30-40, 20-35-45, or some variation, but with the poundage and bow I'm shooting, I'm not going to take a shot at a deer more than 40 yards away. Of course, I could just aim low at 30, but where I hunt, most deer I see will be between 20-35 yards, and I would rather not have to remind myself that to aim low at 30 when Mr. Big Rack comes by. smile

As always, thanks for any help all your experience can provide!

personally, (and i have limited experience) after last year I decided to eliminate the thinking and just set my top pin for 15 yards. that way i'm just an inch or two high at 10 yards and an inch or two low at 20 yards, so I can pretty much just hold dead on anywhere between 10 and 20 yards with my top pin. really eliminates the guessing game, since I figure most of my shots will be 20 yards or less.

then i set my second pin at 25 and my 3rd at 35.

but to each his own, i'm sure you'll get more experienced archers advice with this thread

What poundage are you shooting and at what speed? I would make sure that my 20yd pin is dead nuts where you want it first. I personally shoot 28" draw at 70# 419 grain arrow 289 fps and have a fair amount of space for my 30yd pin under my 20yd pin. Personally if your yardages are that tight I would take advantage of that and go to a heavier arrow. That being said I believe that as bowhunters we need less speed and more kinetic energy just my thoughts.