• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Reliabile Sled for Ice Fishing?? Help

74mph

Hey Guys. I am new to snowmobiles and am looking for something to get me out ice fishing this winter and for the coming years. I am looking for something super reliabile that will be able to handle/tow a 3 man clam. I know snomobiles can be super touchy and I want something that I wont have to work on much if at all. Im looking at something used up to $2000 or less if possible. I would like reverse.

What would you recommend to look for?

Take a look at that Craig site, type in "reverse" for a keyword and your price range into the search. You will start to see what you can expect to afford. Look for something that says "trail" in the name and stay away from anything that implies "racing". I would stay with a two cylinder sled in the 500-600 class, maybe down to 440 but watch those for old race sleds. Any sled with a "2 up" type of seat will be designed for trail riding and that will also work well to pull an ice house for fishing. Look for a deal with a cover, extra stuff and maybe a trailer as well.

Keep in mind that a snowmobile is NOT a low maintenance machine. You will need to clean the carbs every fall (critically important) and do other normal maintenance.

Thanks hydro. There is a 98 arctic cat panther 550 with reverse and electric start that is a 2 up. This is one that someone at work has that said they would sell it for 1800 in running condition. Sounds like thats somewhat what you mentioned...

Well I can handle maintenance. Im just not interested in something that would need overhauling or other major work on a regular basis.