• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Jiffy Auger

MJBaldwin

I can explain the handle... it's for hanging in your fish house (or garage wall, I suppose wink ).

I think you'd have to be the judge on whether it's "decent", though. Try it out... like I suggested with the Strikemasters you were looking at whistle.

Yea I understand what you mean on trying them out the only problem is there all on C List and then there gone within a few hours or days. I want a decent one but then again I want to try and buy used. That is where I am having the issue. I try to come on here and get the best advice it seems like when you go into these sproting stores ( FF, Scheels, Cabelas) you cant find anyone that knows more than I do and I know I am not an expert on things....

I have an older Jiffy Model 30 - the one in your photo looks much newer.

Over the years it's been a very reliable auger, and as long as I've done the proper upkeep (e.g., replace plug when it's old, don't try to get by with old gas, keep the blade sharp , etc.) it has always performed w/o fail.

I have no doubt that owners of the other brands would provide similar reports for their machines.

With that said, I won't be surprised if a 7-12 page Ford vs. Chevy discussion on ice auger brands follows; it's a bit of an annual hard water season tradition on this board.

Test driving an auger is a must when shopping craig slist or elsewhere, unless you are buying new. At the very least you want to get it started and running. Blades can be sharpened or exchanged.

BTW, That handle is for drilling in tight quarters, like a perm. fishhouse, and some people pay more for that particular handle.