• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Rattling sequence - how long?

MUSKY18

Okay...I am really going to try and use rattling quite a bit once the prerut phase kicks in. My question is: How long of a sequence to you guys typically do? 30 seconds? A minute? and how long between rattling sequences do you wait?

iv never timed it,but i get into it try to make it sound like a fight so just go with your gut. You got any hunting videos that have fights on them watch them. Follow up with your grunt call. Im no pro,but iv called and rattled in some bucks 2 that were in the 140+. Its great haven a angery whitetail comein to your stand ears pined back walkin stiff legged. Id wait 30mins or more

I try to start in a small sequence, probably 10-15 seconds long and not really crash them just some basic sparring, seeing if there is any close and curious deer.

Then I will wait about 15 minutes and then go for about 30 seconds to maybe a minute with the rattling and get pretty agressive with both the frequency and the loudness.

I will do this as long as I see fit, maybe most of the morning to all day sits.

Do not get discouraged if you do not see anything all the time, but be ready too, they will sometimes just show up out of now where.

Always keep an eye out downwind the bigger more mature bucks will normally always circle downwind to smell who is fighting and if there is any ladies around watching the match.

Rippins got it. Throw in a grunt or two before and after the sequence. Like he said, I have had days where nothing shows up, and then I have had days where one will come running in looking for a fight. I go about every 20 minutes, or 3x an hour, about 30 seconds to a minute in length.