• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Merc 115 Opti or EFI 4-Stroke

MikeEiden

I've found a few options to repower my 17.5' Tracker Targa WT (currently w/ 75hp Merc 2-stroke) and wanted to get some thoughts and opinions on the two choices. I have no experiences with either.

From internet searchers I've seen that the 115 Opti has a coil issue with them burning out and leaving people stranded. Not sure how many Opti's are plagued with this. Also how quiet is the Opti?

I haven't seen really any reliability issues for the 115 EFI 4-stroke as of yet but I've heard they are dogs as far as performance goes. I've also never heard one of these motors but I'm guessing their pretty quiet.

Any stories or experiences on performance, reliability, quietness, etc on these motors are greatly appreciated and of course suggestions are welcomed.

Thanks,

Mike

I would go with the 4 stroke. The 4 stroke a Dog? On your boat you will fly. Why not Yamaha? I have the F115 on my lund Explorer 1700 and have nothing but praises for it. It has More power than I have ever needed!

I currently have a Merc on the boat and was told I'll be able to use my controls, wiring, and even my props on the Opti. I have to check on the 4-strokes but I'm assuming it would be similar case. I would consider a Yamaha but I would have to figure out how much more it would cost me for the extras. Heard a lot of good things about Suzuki and actually rod in a guides boat that had a 225 on it. Very impressed with how quiet that thing was! Just to many options and don't know how deep to dive into it.

Thanks for the input guys!

Don't own one of either, but hade ridden in boats with them and witness them. A guy on our lake has a 115 4 stroke Merc on his pontoon, and holy cow is it quiet. He came by me and I thought he was drifting, until I saw the telltale water stream.