• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Daily Account, South Dakota deer, turkeys, trout.

DonBo

Following a tradition started by Scoot, Id like to tell the story of my recent annual trip to the northern Black Hills.

We hunt a river bottom area near Sturgis. I've been doing this trip for nearly 30 years. We hunt an 800 acre private ranch for turkeys, archery deer and all the trout fishing you could hope for. My partner on this trip is my old friend Gary. Gary has joined me on this hunt for about 20 years now. We camp on the property and it is the best week of the year for me.

Day 1. Friday, Oct. 9.

As we drove across the So. Dakota prairie conditions faded the entire way. By the time we reached Sturgis the temp was 9 degrees, it was snowing hard and the wind was blowing 30-40 mph. We were pulling my old tent trailer and there was NO WAY I was about to set it up under those conditions with just a few hours of light left, so we found a cheap motel and settled in to watch the Twins lose. Again. frown

Day 2. Saturday, Oct. 10.

We slept in and had our last hot shower for the week then headed out to our hunting area. After setting up camp in 10 degree weather we found out there was no heat in the camper. Yikes! After much running around we got a new regulator and we were in business. Seems we got some moisture in it on the drive and it froze solid in the cold.

I finally got hunting late in the afternoon. I set a ground blind in a good area and waited. There were deer and turkeys everywhere! Saw probably 30-40 deer and missed, with my bow, two turkeys. I also saw the biggest 8 point of my life. Had one doe eye to eye as she munched leaves on the branches I used to brush in my blind. That was cool.

Gary also saw several deer that night, including a few good bucks.