• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Drift Sock

FishinFun7

Question

Im looking to purchase a drift sock. When I purchase one do I need to buy the harness system as well? I have never used a drift sock before, how exactly are they used? Do you just hook it to the side of the boat and throw it over? Are there good/bad brands of drift socks? Thanks for any and all info provided!

10 answers to this question

If it doesn't come with the harness, I would highly recommend getting one. When deploying it into the water, the float on the harness with allow the sock to open up much faster than a standard rope. I first started with a rope, but quickly made the purchase of the harness and I don't regret the purchase one bit.

If you have kids... take one of their "noodles" and cut about 6" off it and thread it on some rope to make a harness like Borch says. I bought the harness and saw this design on Mille lacs 2 years ago and did the Homer Simpson DOH!

I've got a couple driftsocks, different sizes to match the conditions, plus having 2 is nice if you want the boat sideways to the wind.

One is one a rope, the other on a harness. They both work fine, the harness is nice but definately not needed. I use my sock with the rope more than my sock with the harness.

I use one without the harness. When drifting sideways with the wind, I throw the driftsock off the back of the boat, and put the bow mount trolling motor in and lower the speed until the boat stays perpendicular to the wind.