• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Snack Sticks

When you are making snack sticks from Venison, are you letting them sit at room temp for a few days after smoking to dry down or are you freezing them right away?

I have been pulling them from the smoker, giving an ice water bath and then vacuum sealing them before they go in the freezer. My dad had some from Schmidts in Nicollet and theirs seems to have been shrunk down and dried out more than mine. The casing was also stuck tight to the sticks while mine you could easily peel off or slide the stick out of it. Thought if people were air drying them I would do a batch and try that.

Where I have been bring my Deer for many years does a Great job with everything else but their sticks have become shrunken and dry so I just quit buying them. When I first went there the Dad's were running the shop and they were good but now the son's have taken over and their not as good. :(

I would guess the shriveled and dry sticks are not getting a proper ice bath--a cold shower or an ice bath stops the cooking process (i.e., prevents OVER cooking) and it also prevents the sticks from getting wrinkled. Just a theory regarding the meat shops mentioned above, but I would  guess they are batching out tons of stuff and aren't taking the time to properly ice bath the sticks. Makes a huge difference in the finished product.