• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

how to use a smoker that has just one pan?

I just bought an older electric smoker very cheap at a garage sale. I have never used one before, and i always thought they had two pans, one for water and one for wood chips. This smoker only has one pan, so do i put water and chips together in the pan, or how do i go about using it? It didnt come with a manual. Thanks for any tips.

I don't use a water pan for smoking anything; pork shoulders, ribs, beef roasts, or fish. I don't smoke chicken very often but don't use it for that either.

Wood chips in water will not smoke. I'd use the pan for the charcoal and/or wood chips and call it good.

You may want to set up some foil or something to deflect some heat, you want to smoke most things at 225, usually go as high as 250 for a few things.

I don't use a water pan for smoking anything; pork shoulders, ribs, beef roasts, or fish. I don't smoke chicken very often but don't use it for that either.

Wood chips in water will not smoke. I'd use the pan for the charcoal and/or wood chips and call it good.

You may want to set up some foil or something to deflect some heat, you want to smoke most things at 225, usually go as high as 250 for a few things.

Right on. Mine is also an older cheaper elect smoker with just the one pan. Fill it with chips or chunks and let it go. Just yesterday did a turkey breast and pork loin and both were excellent, very moist and tender.

I only use a water pan when doing large pieces of meat, like butts. Not for the moisture, but I've noticed the water pan helps hold balanced smoker temps, in my electric smoker. Just use those disposable tinfoil trays. They will work for wood as well, just cover them so they aren't able to go into an open flame