• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

About to pull the trigger on a lund - need advice

EricD

I'm about to put an offer down on a 2008 Lund Explorer SS with a 115 HP Mercury 4 str. Basic boat, motor and trailer, with no options, no electronics, no trolling motor. I'll add those later but I'm at a loss as to what would be a reasonable offer. It's a nice boat with a lot of features standard on the boat. Any help would be appreciated. I'm new to the boat world and there's lots of variation here in the market.

I assume you're working with a dealer, since you're talking about a 2008 boat???

Have the dealer give you a price, and shop a couple other dealers. Some may deal with you over the phone, or there's still some boat shows / sports shows around so maybe you can work with some dealers there. Since you're talking about a basic boat / motor / trailer package with no added options it should be easy to compare pricing. Get 3 prices, that should let you know if everyone's in the ballpark or not. Then decide where to go and what to offer based on what you're finding out.

I own a 2005 Lund Explorer SS 1600. I love the boat overall. I think Lund has a great reputation but I also think that only being able to buy a Mecury motor will hurt them. I am just not a big fan of a Mercury motor. I would really weigh my options and look into an Alumnacraft also.

Eric,

Here's a couple thoughts.

1) What's the length of the boat(?) - if it's 17 foot, the 115 is just fine - if it's an 18', I'd recommend stepping up to a 150 hp motor.

2) What pound of trailer - and brand. For that boat, I feel you should have at least a 2800# trailer, if not a 3200# with brakes.