• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Favorite lure & technique for Walleye & Perch

CSP88

Hello all, I'm a newbie to the site, I would like to see some other opinions on their favorite lure,color,size, and technique for catching Eyes & Perch thru the ice. I hope to hear of some that I haven't tried so I can rig up my arsenal for this year.

For Walleye I like to use jigging raps with a full minnow, not just the head. When you use a full minnow, it looks like a wounded minnow swimming with a live minnow,it's a two for one to the Walleye and it produces very well.

I also love to use glow glass jigs, they glow so bright and also produce very well.

Ole

I catch alot of perch, crappies, and eyes on jigging raps. The smallest ones, # 2s i'll tip each hook on the trebel with one spike(maggot). The 3s and 5s i'll tip with a small minnow head. Useing your electronics will show you how the fish want them worked. Two tips are to learn how to "shake" the lure so just the trebel with the bait flops around. And sometimes pullin the lure away slowly as the fish is approaching seem to P them off and they attack it...

For perch I usually jig with 4# Berkley MicroIce and a Genz worm with a couple of spikes or wax worms. Preferably spikes(they are tougher). Hit the lake floor to shake it up a little then bring it up an inch or two wiggle it, hold for a couple seconds and repeat. That is my main technique. Usually works great.

Welcome to Fishing Minnesota!

Jigging spoons and swimming lures are my favorite for both walleyes and perch.

Glow Devils, Angel Eyes, Buckshot Rattle spoons, Kastmasters, Sweedish Pimples, are a few jigging spoons.

Jiggin Raps, Nils Masters, Bad Dogs, Salmos, are a few swimming lures.

Spoons tipped with either a minnow head, whole minnow, or maggots.

Jigging lures tipped with either a minnow head or maggots.