• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

hand auger

gvg_uwec

hey guys... the reality of not being able to store a power auger in my dorm room is starting to hit and means i will have to be looking for a new hand auger...i know NOTHING about the hand augers and what ones are better to go with..any help on this will be GREATLy appreciated as i cant wait for that hard water to set in and the flags to be flying

I got a Strikemaster Lazer Hand Auger last year and I love it. Its light , adjusts to 4 heights and cuts nice. Just keep the blade guard on it or you will cut yourself or ding it up then they are tuff to cut with. Keep a extra set of blades with ya because as I said 1 little bur on the blade makes it hard to get a decent cut.

I'm happy with my 6" lazer, BUT, a few good people on this board swear by the nils master. I've never even seen a nils, but I never heard a bad word about them. I'm sure WallEYES will post up on this.

If your on a limited budget, I'd get one of the Mora blue hand augers. The Lazers are more spendy, but defineatly cut quicker than the Mora's. The Nils Master hand augers are just as fast as the Lazers if not faster once you get the two handed method down. But they are at the top end dollar wise, and they are heavier than the Lazers. As with all augers, treat the blades with respect and tender loving care.