• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Backing up digital photos

Hi all,

I have a lot of digital pictures on my computer and was wondering how I should store (backup) them somewhere else. I have tried to use NERO but everytime I want to add pictures to the CD there seems to be a lot of errors and then I cannot use that CD again. Is there a way I can keep adding pictures to a cd or should I buy an external hard drive to save my pictures to. I'm afraid of loosing my pictures and want a good way to save them for a lifetime without having to print them all.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Hey TKO,

Everyone does this different but here's the way I do it. I store all of my images on an external hard drive then at the end of the month I put them on DVDrom. If I was a pro or have a lot of family photos then I might do it more often, but none of my images are that important at this point that I need to worry about it. Once a month is fine for me.

CDs don't give you much storage compared to DVDs. If you want to keep adding them to a CD/DVD as you go, you CD RW or DVD RW.

Just my way and I'm sure that'll change as I go along.

Good Luck

I would suggest checking out Carbonite.

This in an online storage with unlimited storage (I'm guessing there must be some sort of disclamer there). It's $50 per year.

Basically upon signup it will upload everything on your HardDrive. After that, in the background will upload any new data as it is added. Next to each folder will be a small graphic ensuring you that the file has been backed up.

I've read some real good reviews, and have been planning on trying it out.