• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Fishing LOTW

sledman

Hey guys, I am planning a trip up to LOTW sometime in the summer and was wondering a few questions. I am a newbie to the musky fishing and to the lake, so any help is appreciated. One is there a specific time in the summer when the fishing seams better? Ex. full moon? Also I will be staying in the morson area. Does anyone have some suggestions for that time of the year? Im not expecting anyone to give me their hot spots but just looking for a basic game plan. Also are there any must have lures I need to bring up? Thanks for the help!

Hey Sled- We stay near Morson and fish Sabaskong Bay area . We go up the first week of July, and the fishing is usually pretty good.I believe the Muskie fishing is the best around August and Sept.As far as lures we do good with White Mepps ,Raddog spinnerbaits,Cowgirls/Showgirls,TopRaiders etc.I am sure there are other more experienced Muskie addicts on this board who can give you more advice. One more thing, Dick Pearsons book "Muskies on the Shield" is a must read. I wish I had read it 3 years ago when we first started fishing the area.

LOTW has all the classic Musky structure and tons of it. Incrediable place to fish. Dick Piersons Book on fishing the shield - there is no better. His video is good too. The best approach is to work with a guide a couple of times during your stay. Favorite lures for me are Mepps Maribou, Black and Sliver Spinner Baits, Top Raiders and Hellhound/Manta.

Time to fish, I don't think you can go wrong. I did go up in mid Sept a few years ago and the algae bloom was terrible. But other guys do well at that time.

I have been going up there for 6 years and every year I learn more -- a lot more about it. It is a complicated water -- at least for me. This is the reason for the quides. Helps the learning curve.