• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Where are the ATVs?

hovermn

So I've pretty much decided that I'm going to buy either a snowmobile or an ATV this season. I started with the intention of buying a sled, even looked at a couple. However, after reading pleny of posts and talking to a few people at the ice show, I've decided against the sled and have decided to look closely at 4 wheelers.

What timing, however. Everywhere I look, all I see are sleds. hsolist, the paper, motorsports shops and so on. So, my question is, where should I be looking? Have I already missed the boat here? I have a hard time believing that as there were more 4 wheelers at the ice show than sleds!

Anywhooo, any assistance would be helpful. I'm just getting started, and I'm a fresh newbie when it comes to motorsports (except hovercraft, of course!). I guess what I'm saying is that I really don't know what I'm looking for yet, other than I'd prefer 400-500cc or larger.

I would say get both. there are many times that the snow is too deep for the wheeler, and had to use the sled. used wheelers are hard to find, but there are numerous sleds available very cheap. I would say for ice fishing, a sled would work for all conditions, except I would stud the track on the sled. studs are not too expensive, and they are easy to install. hope this helps a little, good luck.

I do have to add, that wheelers, at least the utility wheelers have good carrying capacity, where snowmobiles do not.

When I entered the market I went to Tousley and looked over their used inventory. They have a lot of used machines so you can get a good idea of what your options are: price, size, style etc. Then I started looking on Carsoup just to compare prices, googled using ATV consumer reports until I felt comfortable that I knew what I wanted and what would be a reasonable price.