• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Walleye setups

I am looking to get a walleye rig or two setup for this year. Problem is I don't know what to get. I am new to the strictly walleye world. Right now I am looking for a rod to do lindy rigs with and using a jig/minnow setup. What would be a good setup for this and what kind of line? I'm mainly a bass fisherman but I want to learn to chase and how to fish for eyes and will prolly be picking everyone's brain this summer on what to look for. Also price wise I'm looking to my spend more than a hundred on the rod. Some that I have looked at are the magtouch and prodigys from the big C store brand, the skeet Reese and Abu gracias.

Thanks for any and all info!

Lindy Rig Rod: 6'9"-7'6" Medium Light-Medium Power with a Fast-Extra Fast Action paired with a 2500 Series Shimano Sized Reel. For line I would look at 6-8lb test.

Jig/Minnow Rod: 6'-7' Medium Light Power Rod with an Extra Fast Action paired with a 1000 Series Shimano Sized Reel. I really like 6lb test for jigging and some prefer braided line for the added sensitivity.

I would purchase the most sensitive blank you can afford.

I love the Legend Elite series by St Croix but they do not come cheap.

I would agree on the sizes listed above.

I have never used one but I have heard great things about the LIMIT Creek Smoothie rod line.

For reels, I love the 1000 series and have not found a walleye this sized reel cannot handle.

I just purchased 2 new Shimano Stradic reels but I cannot speak on how well they work for the money as I have not used them yet. BVeen told they are a great reel but again, the price on these are sky high.

I have a few of the Okuma Expior reels and they are I believe a 9bb reel. Great reel for the price.