• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

keep gas in tank or empty?

mrpike1973

we have had threads like this before with different views. i'm not a expert on this but this is what i do and have done since i bought my boat/motor in 2001. i have a 115 hp 4stroke Merc. i put only pure premium non oxy in my tank. i topped it off this year but last year i know it wasn't completly full. i do put one can of Sea Foam in the tank each fall when i put it away. my motor runs perfect now and has since i bought it. i only changed spark plugs one time even though it ran fine. good luck.

If it is a plastic tank, I don't think it matters.

If it is a steel tank, fill it up.

As mentioned, empty tanks have open side walls that are available to collect condensation. If it is a steel tank then that condensation can create rust inside the tank.

I've not had a problem with plastic tanks and condensation when filling with fresh gas and some seafoam in the spring.

With my 25p evinrude and 6 gallon plastic tank, I always ran only non-oxy gas and a light capful or so of seafoam in every tank, and drained the tank for winter. Never ran the carbs dry that I recall on purpose. Each spring, new non-oxy gas with a capful of seafoam, and it started like a Mercury wink meaning on one turn of the key, hehe!

In our inboard tanks, we just leave it with whatever is in there, but we run a little seafoam and non-oxy gas (usually) all year long. Spring it just gets fresh gas and off we go. Good luck, I know others do different, but this works for us over three different outboards of various ages and hp's.

You will get some condensation with a half full tank. Treat it in the fall and fill it with fresh gas in the spring and you should be fine. That is what I do.