• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

adrenaline?

walleyeguy7

I have been hunting for 15 years and have shot many deer. I have shot a few nice bucks as well. One thing I have noticed is that when I am rifle hunting I usually get no adrenaline just a bit of a rush after the shot. However, when I am bowhunting, man do I get a TON of adrenaline, even if I just hear a deer. I must admit I do have a bit of general anxiety so I am a bit edgy to begin with. I usually have plenty of encounters with deer during the season, but this year I havent had many, but tonight I had quite a few deer around within range but no shot, my heart was POUNDING to say the least!But the few encounters Ive had this year are all the same alot of adrenaline and shakes.I dont mind a little adrenaline rush but it kinda seems crazy lately and my question is to see if any of you guys come unglued when you see or hear deer (doesnt matter buck, doe or fawn)to the point where you wish it wasnt so bad, and if so what do you do to control it? I love to hunt and spend as much time as i can in the woods,but i would like to get some pointers on how to control my self when I hear a twig snap.

Yea, good luck with the control.

I also have shot many deer and the day when my heart doesn't beat hard when any deer comes around is the day I will hang up the bow.

I think part of the deal with archery is you know you must have them close to close the deal.

With a gun if you spook them a bit and they don't offer a shot until 50+ yards you can still pull the shot off.

As far as trying to control it, take alot of deep breaths.