• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Im brand new to this game and need some help!

Kyle

first and foremost, how do you find a good spearing spot? Im in Brainerd and recently moved up here and know nothin about the lakes. How do I locate a good spearing spot. I have tried tip up fishing spots that I thought might be good, but got skunked...

I have just started this year also, and did a bunch of research and was way over thinking everything. We were out probably 5 times only seeing a couple fish and I thought for sure we were doing something wrong. Come to find out we were there a couple hours to late. We found from 10 to 2:30 is the magic hours where we are at. We both got our limit in those two days and saw 20 northerns in those 2 days. We even had 2 northerns in the hole at the same time. I dont know if that is odd or not, but it was pretty dang cool. anyways I wouldnt look to deep into it, just try some different times and places maybe you will find your magic time and place.

I averaged 5 days a week 5 hours a day last year. I speared the same lake the whole time and only had my house in two different spots. I only had 5 days that I did not see a pike.

I could not find any certain pattern to the fish. I will say I was rarely out there real early. The only real pattern I could find was some days they liked very little movement with my decoys while others they liked it agressive.

The best spearing I had was usually real cold days or days with unstable weather. I had always understood that ubnstable was bad for fishing but that was not my experience.

I think the bottom line is time spent staring down the hole is time well spent because you never know when they will show up.

i have had good luck when it is really cold or when a snow storm first starts too.

dont know why but it seems like a pattern every year.