• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Amsoil

I have a 1999 175 Ficht that has been fed nothing but XD 50 since new. The price of that oil is getting up there to the point that I am considering trying something less expensive. My question is this. Has anybody who runs or has run Amsoil in their motor had a problem that was caused by the oil? I am looking at using HP Injector.

This is my 3rd season running hp injector. No problems to speak of. I spend a fair amount of time trolling cranks with my main motor and it doesnt seem to load up, even after downrigging/idleing for 8+ hrs a day.

98' Johnson 115 2-stroke.

I've been running the HP Injector in my 225 Ficht for 3 years now. Runs great and no smoke or smell. I wouldn't be afraid of Amsoil, good product.

Dean

I've been toying with the idea of trying synthetic for my outboard. Mine is a 1998 Johnson 90hp with oil injection. I followed the link to Oilman's HSOforum but there are so many lubricants to choose from I couldn't really figure out what I would need. I tried to use the "contact us" link and send an email but got an error message.

Are there risks involved to switching in an old motor like this?

What are the advantages of using synthetic over petroleum? It is about three times the cost so I need to justify that as well.

Thanks,

Bob, To see cost savings you would either have to pre-mix at a lower oil to gas ratio or modify your injection system to use less oil. The engine's system does not care about the quality of the oil, it just pumps the same amount through, so your operation costs would be directly proportional to the cost of the oil.

The advantage to the synthetics are that they burn cleaner and lubricate better, so that they can safely be mixed at lower ratios.