• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Intenet browser question

Anybody else seem to be having issues with Firefox lately? I installed the browser about a year ago and immediately enjoyed the increase in speed over IE not to mention the oodles of add-ons for personalizing it.

About two weeks ago I rather suddenly began to notice periodic problems where it seemed to be locking up or taking an extra long time to accomplish various tasks like closing for one. Sometimes when I click on the Close button it takes so long to shut down I finally force it down using my task manager.

When it acts up I've checked my processes in Task Manager and the value shown in the CPU column is about 50. I just checked it now while typing this and it shows a value of about 2. My OS is Windows Vista Home Premium, which I've been using for two years.

Other symptoms I've noticed are when I click on my menu tabs it seems to take a long time to respond with the drop down menus. I might see a border appear but I have to wait for the menu to populate.

Once I've got a sight open it seems to work fine. I can navigate through the various links, navigate to other open tabs, scroll down the page, etc. without any indication of a problem.

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling the software although I didn't uninstall my saved preferences and personal data. I've tried increasing and decreasing the size of the cache. I've tried dumping the cache and now I just configured it to dump the cache every time I exit Firefox. I've tried recreating my profile and starting over. I've run a complete scan with AVG Free, Spybot S&D, Lavasoft Ad-Aware, Malwarebytes, HijackThis, Windows Defender, and Disk Cleanup and nothing was found. The only thing I haven't tried is a complete uninstall of the software including my personal data and then reinstalling.